Science Fiction and Fantasy 2022 Releases by Authors of Colour (#1)

A selection of new 28 science fiction and fantasy books by minority authors and authors of colour released between January to March 2022. 
Light Years From Home Cover
  1. Light Years From Home by Mike Chen  (January 4th, Science Fiction)
    The perfect combination of action, imagination and heart, Light Years from Home is a touching drama about a challenge as difficult as saving the galaxy: making peace with your family…and yourself.”
    The Storygraph  Goodreads
    The Kindred Cover
  2. The Kindred by Alechia Dow (January 4th, Science Fiction, YA)
    “To save a galactic kingdom from revolution, Kindred mind-pairings were created to ensure each and every person would be seen and heard, no matter how rich or poor…”
    The Storygraph  Goodreads

    The Ivory Key Cover
  3. The Ivory Key by Akshaya Raman  (January 4th, Fantasy, YA)
    “In this epic YA fantasy debut, magic, a prized resource, is the only thing between peace and war. When magic runs out, four estranged royal siblings must find a new source before their country is swallowed by invading forces. The first in an Indian-inspired duology that’s perfect for fans of There Will Come a Darkness, The Gilded Wolves, and We Hunt the Flame.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Daughter of the Moon Goddess Cover
  4. Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan (January 11th, Fantasy)
    "A captivating debut fantasy inspired by the legend of the Chinese moon goddess, Chang’e , in which a young woman’s quest to free her mother pits her against the most powerful immortal in the realm and sets her on a dangerous path."
    The Storygraph Goodreads

    Ashes of Gold Cover
  5. Ashes of Gold by J. Elle  (January 8th, Fantasy, YA, Book 2)
    In the heart-pounding conclusion to the Wings of Ebony duology, which #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicole Yoon calls “bold, inventive, big-hearted and deeply perceptive,” Rue makes her final stand to reclaim her people’s stolen magic.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Akata Women
  6. Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor (January 18th, Fantasy, YA, Book 3)
    “The electrifying third book in the series that started with Akata Witch, named one of Time magazine’s “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time” and “100 Best YA Books of All Time,” from award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads

    How High We Go In The Dark Cover
  7. How High We Go In The Dark by Sequoia Nagamatsu (January 18th, Science Fiction)
    "Spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague—a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice."
    The Storygraph Goodreads

    Shattered Midnight Cover
  8. Shattered Midnight by Dhonielle Clayton (January 20th, Fantasy, YA)
    “The Mirror: Shattered Midnight is the second novel in the innovative four-book fairy-tale series written by Julie C. Dao, Dhonielle Clayton, J.C. Cervantes, and L. L. McKinney, following one family over several generations, and the curse that plagues it.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
     
    Goliath Cover
  9. Goliath by Tochi Onyebuchi (January 25th, Science Fiction)
    "In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
     This Woven Kingdom Cover
  10. This Woven Kingdom by Tahera Mafi (February 3rd, Fantasy, YA)
    “Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Moon Witch Spider King Cover
  11. Moon Witch Spider King by Marlon James (February 15th, Fantasy, Book 2)
    “From Marlon James, author of the bestselling National Book Award finalist Black Leopard, Red Wolf, the second book in the Dark Star trilogy, his African Game of Thrones.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Bitter Cover
  12. Bitter by Akwaeke Emezi (February 15th, Fantasy, YA, Prequel)
    “From National Book Award finalist Akwaeke Emezi comes a companion novel to the critically acclaimed PET that explores both the importance and cost of social revolution--and how youth lead the way.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Many Deaths Of Laila Starr Cover
  13. The Many Deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V - (February 17th, Graphic Novel, Fantasy)
    “Humanity is on the verge of discovering immortality. As a result, the avatar of Death is cast down to Earth to live a mortal life in Mumbai as twenty-something Laila Starr. Struggling with her newfound mortality, Laila has found a way to be placed in the time and place where the creator of immortality will be born. Will Laila take her chance to stop mankind from permanently altering the cycle of life, or will death really become a thing of the past?”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea Cover

  14.  The Girl Who Fell Beneath by Axie Oh (February 22nd, Fantasy, YA)
    "Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale “The Tale of Shim Cheong,” perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Only a Monster Cover
  15. Only a Monster by Vanessa Len (February 22nd, Fantasy, YA)
    “With the sweeping romance of Passenger and the dark fantasy edge of This Savage Song, this standout YA contemporary fantasy debut from Vanessa Len, is the first in a planned trilogy.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Nightland Express Cover
  16. The Nightland Express by J. M. Lee (Feb 22, Fantasy)
    “In antebellum America, two teens bury their secrets and join the historic Pony Express, and soon discover the mortal world is not the only one on the brink of war.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
     The Lost Dreamer Cover
  17. The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta (March 1st, Fantasy, YA)
    “A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Blood Scion Cover
     
  18. Blood Scion by Deborah Falaye (March 2nd, Fantasy, YA)
    “A young girl with forbidden powers must free her people from oppression in this richly layered epic fantasy from debut author Deborah Falaye, inspired by Yoruba-Nigerian mythology and perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and An Ember in the Ashes.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Crimson Reign Cover

  19. Crimson Reign by Amélie Wen Zhao - (March 2nd, Fantasy, YA, Book 3) 
    “For fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Six of Crows comes the thrilling conclusion to the Blood Heir trilogy. A princess with a dark secret must ally with a con man to liberate her empire from a reign of terror in this epic fantasy retelling of the Anastasia story.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments Cover
  20. Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments by T. L. Huchu (March 3rd, Fantasy, Book 2)
    “Opening up a world of magic and adventure, Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments by T. L. Huchu is the second book in the beloved Edinburgh Nights series.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads 
    The Way Spring Arrives and Other Stories Cover
  21. The Way Spring Arrives and Other Stories (March 8th, SFF Anthology)
    "Written, edited, and translated by a female and nonbinary team, these stories have never before been published in English and represent both the richly complicated past and the vivid future of Chinese science fiction and fantasy."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Lakelore Cover
  22. Lakelore by Anna-Marie McLemore (March 8th, Fantasy, YA)
    ​​"In this young adult novel by award-winning author Anna-Marie McLemore, two non-binary teens are pulled into a magical world under a lake - but can they keep their worlds above water intact?"
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Squire Cover
  23. Squire by Nadia Shammas and Sara Alfageeh - (March 8th, Graphic Novel, Fantasy, YA)
    “This YA fantasy graphic novel follows fourteen-year-old Aiza, who trains to become a knight for a war-torn empire while hiding her true background as a girl from conquered lands.“
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Circus Infinite Cover
  24. The Circus Infinite by Khan Wong (March 8th, Science Fiction)
    “Found-family, queer space fantasy by way of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet meets Cirque du Soleil”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Kundo Wakes Up Cover
  25. Kundo Wakes Up by Saad Z. Hossain (March 15th, Fantasy)
    “In this standalone follow-up to the fan favourite The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday Saad Z. Hossain continues to mix futurism with fable, and shows how strange our lives might become.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    A Magic Steeped In Poison Cover
  26. A Magic Steeped in Poison by Judy I. Lin  (March 22nd, Fantasy, YA)
    “In this enchanting debut YA fantasy, a young tea-maker travels to the capital city to take part in a cutthroat magical competition that could be the key to saving her sister's life.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The City Of Dusk Cover
     
  27. The City of Dusk by Tara Sim (March 22nd, Fantasy)
    “Set in a gorgeous world of bone and shadow magic, of vengeful gods and defiant chosen ones, The City of Dusk is the first in a dark epic fantasy trilogy that follows the four heirs of four noble houses—each gifted with a divine power—as they form a tenuous alliance to keep their kingdom from descending into a realm-shattering war.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Sweep of Stars Cover

  28. Sweep of Stars by Maurice Broaddus (March 29th, Science Fiction)
    “Maurice Broaddus's Sweep of Stars is the first in a trilogy that explores the struggles of an empire. Epic in scope and intimate in voice, it follows members of the Muungano empire – a far-reaching coalition of city-states that stretches from O.E. (original earth) to Titan – as it faces an escalating series of threats.”
    The Storygraph Goodreads

Discover more diverse reads:


Cover image: Squire by Nadia Shammas and Sara Alfageeh

This list was created by Gagan (@afantasysky). If you're interested in reading more science fiction and fantasy books by authors of colour join in with the Shimmering Worlds Reading Challenge.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published