40 Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Books of 2022

2022 is set to be an exciting year for queer literature. Here's our list of 40 books for teens and adults with LGBTQ+ representation to be hyped about.

This started off as a list of 22 books, but quickly grew to 40 as it was too difficult to narrow down (and we could easily have included more). The growth we've seen the past few years in queer literature is encouraging, as is the increasing inclusion of more diverse characters in mainstream genres.

"As rights are won, we find more ways to talk about our gender, and we learn to accept different types of love more freely, we will need more stories that reflect our ever broadening experiences, but also show us what the possibilities are (...)" - Penguin Books

Reading books about and by minorities helps us understand different cultures, sexualities and genders. This can help break stereotypes and build empathy, which is always a good thing. Which ones of these will make it on to your TBR?

Most Anticipated Queer Books of 2022 - Part 1

1. Icebreaker by A.L. Graziadei

An irresistible YA debut about two hockey players fighting to be the best--and the romance that catches them by surprise along the way. 

2. Survive the Dome by Kosoko Jackson

A pulse-pounding thriller about an impenetrable dome around Baltimore that is keeping the residents in and information from going out during a city-wide protest.

3. From Dust, A Flame by Rebecca Podos

A contemporary Jewish fantasy of enduring love, unfathomable loss, and the power of stories to hold us together when it seems that nothing else can.

4. Love and Other Disasters by Anita Kelly

The first openly nonbinary contestant on America's favourite cooking show falls for their clumsy competitor in this delicious romantic comedy debut.

5. Milo and Marcos at the End of the World by Kevin Christopher Snipes

Milo and Marcos soon begin to wonder if the universe itself is plotting against them in this young adult debut by the playwright and creator of The Two Princes podcast, Kevin Christopher Snipes. 

6. Burn Down, Rise Up by Vincent Tirado

Mysterious disappearances. An urban legend rumored to be responsible. And one group of friends, determined to save their city at any cost. 

7. Youngblood by Sasha Laurens

Two queer teen bloodsuckers at an elite vampire-only boarding school must go up against all of Vampirdom when they uncover a frightening conspiracy on campus.

8. Extasia by Claire Legrand

A new, bone-chilling YA horror novel about a girl who joins a coven to root out a vicious evil that’s stalking her village.

Most Anticipated LGBTQ Books of 2022 - Part 2

9. Wrath Goddess Sing by Maya Deane

Drawing on ancient texts and modern archaeology to reveal the trans woman’s story hidden underneath the well-known myths of The Iliad, Maya Deane’s Wrath Goddess Sing weaves a compelling, pitilessly beautiful vision of Achilles’ vanished world.

10. She Gets the Girl by Rachael Lippincott and Alyson Derrick

A swoon-worthy hate-to-love YA romantic comedy.

11. This Rebel Heart by Katherine Locke.

A rollicking tale set amid the 1956 Hungarian revolution in post-WWII Communist Budapest.

12. The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes

A sharply funny and moving debut novel about a queer Mexican American girl navigating Catholic school, while falling in love and learning to celebrate her true self. 

13. All That’s Left in the World by Erik J. Brown

Jamie and Andrew are strangers, and two of the last people on Earth. They don't know what they'll find on their perilous journey ... but they may just find each other. A queer romance about courage, hope and humanity.

14. A Taste of Gold and Iron by Alexandra Rowland

A sweeping fantasy romance set against the backdrop of an Ottoman Empire-inspired world.

15. A Little Bit Country by Brian D. Kennedy

A heartfelt and funny contemporary romance inspired by Dollywood, about two boys who fall in love against the backdrop of a country music-themed amusement park.

16. Wild and Wicked Things by Francesca May

In the aftermath of the First World War, a young woman gets swept into a glittering world filled with illicit magic, romance, blood debts and murder in this lush and decadent debut novel.

Most Anticipated LGBTQ Books of 2022 - Part 3

17. Earthflown by Frances Wren

A character-driven speculative novel exploring the water crisis, hyper-privatisation and love. Set in a London that has long abandoned the earth to the rising sea, the story takes a science-based approach to conventional fantasy archetypes.

18. Epically Earnest by Molly Horan

In this delightfully romantic LGBTQ+ comedy-of-errors inspired by Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest, a high school senior works up the courage to ask her long-time crush to prom all while deciding if she should look for her bio family.

19. The Sunbearer Trials by Aiden Thomas

Welcome to The Sunbearer Trials, where teen semidioses compete in a series of challenges with the highest of stakes, in this electric new Mexican-inspired fantasy.

20. No Filter and Other Lies by Crystal Maldonado

Twenty one-year-old Max Monroe has it all: beauty, friends, and a glittering life filled with adventure. With tons of followers on Instagram, her picture-perfect existence seems eminently enviable. Except it's all fake.

21. We All Fall Down by Rose Szabo

The first book in a dark fantasy YA duology about the power and danger of stories and the untold costs of keeping magic alive.

22. Tripping Arcadia by Kit Mayquist

A page-turning and shocking tale with an unforgettable protagonist that explores family legacy and inheritance, the sacrifices we must make to get by in today's world, and the intoxicating, dangerous power of wealth.

23. Dauntless by Elisa A. Bonnin

A teen girl must bring together two broken worlds in order to save her nation in this lush, Filipino-inspired young adult fantasy novel.

24. The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Fear and prejudice still fuel the uneasy truce between humans and witches who are forced to work together when the Haunting Season begins and Wolves rise from the swamp to feed. A bewitching debut, perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, Zoraida Córdova, and Leigh Bardugo.

Most Anticipated LGBTQ Books of 2022 - Part 4

25. Siren Queen by Nghi Vo

Siren Queen offers up an enthralling exploration of an outsider achieving stardom on her own terms, in a fantastical Hollywood where the monsters are real and the magic of the silver screen illuminates every page.

26. Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li

Will Chen, a Chinese American art history student at Harvard, has spent most of his life learning about the West - its art, its culture, all that it has taken and called its own. He believes art belongs with its creators, so when a Chinese corporation offers him a (highly illegal) chance to reclaim five priceless sculptures, it's surprisingly easy to say yes.

27. The Helheim Princess by Tiana Warner

A thrilling, intricate, and romantic #OwnVoices LGBTQ fantasy that builds on Norse mythology into a beautiful story all its own.

28. The Alpha’s Son by Penny Jessup

The first instalment in a thrilling new series, The Alpha's Son is a heart-wrenching Young Adult, wolf shifter romance; full of yearning, comedy, and adventure. 

29. Kiss and Tell by Adib Khorram

A smart, sexy YA novel about a boy band star, his first breakup, his first rebound, and what it means to be queer in the public eye,

30. In the Key of Us by Mariama J. Lockington

A coming-of-age story surrounding the losses that threaten to break us and the friendships that make us whole again.

31. These Fleeting Shadows by Kate Alice Marshall

The Haunting of Hill House meets Knives Out in a bid for an inheritance that will leave Helen Vaughan either rich...or dead.

32. Spin Me Right Around by David Valdes

A sharp and funny YA novel that's Back to the Future with a twist, as a gay teen travels back to his parents' era to save a closeted classmate's life.

Most Anticipated LGBTQ Books of 2022 - Part 5

33. This is Why they Hate Us by Aaron H Aceves

This fun, irreverent summer romp is Netflix's Never Have I Ever meets What If It's Us about a high school senior determined to get over his unrequited feelings for his best friend by getting under someone else.

34. Right Where I Left You by Julian Winters

A deliciously geeky best friends-to lovers romance.

35. The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester by Maya MacGregor

In this queer contemporary YA mystery, a nonbinary teen with autism realizes they must not only solve a 30-year-old mystery but also face the demons lurking in their past in order to live a satisfying life.

36. I’m So Not Over You by Kosoko Jackson

A chance to rewrite their ending is worth the risk in this swoony romantic comedy.

37. The Loophole by Naz Kutub

A gay Muslim boy travels the world for a second chance at love after a possibly magical heiress grants him three wishes in this YA debut.

38. Flip the Script by Lyla Lee

In this simmering, joyous novel, I'll Be the One author Lyla Lee delivers a tender romance set between two brave teens who decide that when the script isn't working, it's time to rewrite it themselves.

39. The Honeys by Ryan La Sala

Mars has always been the lesser twin, the shadow to his sister Caroline's radiance. But when Caroline dies under horrific circumstances, Mars is propelled to learn all he can about his once-inseparable sister who'd grown tragically distant. What Mars finds is a bucolic fairytale not meant for him. Folksy charm and sun-drenched festivities camouflage old-fashioned gender roles and a toxic preparatory rigor. 

40. Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms by Jamar J. Perry

Inspired by West African and Igbo history and mythology, this adventure-filled fantasy introduces readers to Cameron Battle as he begins his journey to greatness.

Discover more diverse reads:


Based on our knowledge, the books in this list have LGBTQ+ characters in a main/prominent role; however, if you spot any mistakes don't hesitate to let us know.

This blog post was written by Lauren S. You can follow her reviews on Instagram @hobbitsbooksandbeyond

Lauren @hobbitsbooksandbeyond

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published