Science Fiction and Fantasy 2022 Releases by Authors of Colour (#2)

A selection of 26 new science fiction and fantasy books by authors of colour released between April to June 2022. 
Unlimited Futures Cover
  1. Unlimited Futures: Speculative, Visionary Blak+Black Fiction edited by Rafeif Ismail and Ellen Van Neerven—Fremantle Press; (April 1st, speculative Anthology, YA)
    "Unlimited Futures is an anthology of speculative, visionary fiction from 21 emerging and established First Nations writers and Black writers, reflecting visionary pasts, hopeful futures and the invisible ties between First Nations people and Black people."
    The Storygraph Goodreads 
    The Blood Trials Cover
  2. The Blood Trials by N.E. Davenport (April 5th, Science Fiction, Fantasy)
    "Blending fantasy and science fiction, N. E. Davenport’s fast-paced, action-packed debut kicks off a duology of loyalty and rebellion, in which a young Black woman must survive deadly trials in a racist and misogynistic society to become an elite warrior."
    The Storygraph Goodreads 
    Braking Day Cover
  3. Braking Day by Adam Oyebanji (April 5th, Science Fiction) "On a generation ship bound for a distant star, one engineer-in-training must discover the secrets at the heart of the voyage in this new sci-fi novel." 
    The Storygraph Goodreads 
    Alone Out Here Cover
  4. Alone Out Here by Riley Redgate (April 5th, Science Fiction, YA)
    "While the world’s leaders oversee the frantic production of a space fleet meant to save at least some of humankind, their children are brought in for a weekend of touring the Traveler, the prototype spaceship. But when the apocalypse arrives months ahead of schedule, with no other ships near completion, a handful of kids from the tour are the only ones who escape the planet."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Scout's Honor Cover
  5. Scout’s Honor by Lily Anderson (April 5th, Paranormal, YA)
    "Prudence Perry is a third-generation Ladybird Scout who must battle literal (and figurative) monsters and the weight of her legacy in Scout's Honor by Lily Anderson, a YA paranormal perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    An Arrow to the Moon Cover
  6. An Arrow to the Moon by Emily X.R. Pan (April 12th, Fantasy, YA)
    "Romeo and Juliet meets Chinese mythology in this lyrical and magical novel by the New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Colour of After."
    The Storygraph Goodreads

    The Memory Librarian Cover
  7. The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer Book by Janelle Monáe (April 14th, Science Fiction Anthology)
    "In The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer, singer-songwriter, actor, fashion icon, activist, and worldwide superstar Janelle Monáe brings to the written page the Afrofuturistic world of one of her critically acclaimed albums, exploring how different threads of liberation—queerness, race, gender plurality, and love—become tangled with future possibilities of memory and time in such a totalitarian landscape…and what the costs might be when trying to unravel and weave them into freedoms."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Blood to Poison Cover
  8. Blood to Poison by Mary Watson (April 14th, Fantasy, YA) "Seventeen-year-old Savannah is cursed. It’s a sinister family heirloom; passed down through the bloodline for hundreds of years, with one woman in every generation destined to die young. The family call them Hella’s girls, named for their ancestor Hella; the enslaved woman with whom it all began. Hella’s girls are always angry, especially in the months before they die."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Fevered Star Cover
  9. Fevered Star by Rebecca Roanhorse (April 19th, Fantasy, Book 2)
    "Return to The Meridian with New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Roanhorse’s sequel to the most critically hailed epic fantasy of 2020 Black Sun—finalist for the Hugo, Nebula, Lambda, and Locus awards."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Genesis Wars Cover
  10. The Genesis Wars by Akemi Dawn Bowman (April 19th, SFF, YA, Book 2)
    "Black Mirror meets Marie Lu’s Warcross in Nami’s continuing adventures as she fights to free her friends in this high-stakes sequel to The Infinity Courts by award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Kaikeyi Cover
  11. KAIKEYI by Vaishnavi Patel (April 26th, Mythology)
    "A stunning debut from a powerful new voice, Kaikeyi reimagines the life of the infamous queen from the Indian epic the Ramayana, weaving a tale of fate, family, courage, and heartbreak—and an extraordinary woman determined to leave her mark in a world where gods and men dictate the shape of things to come."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Void Ascendant Cover
  12. The Void Ascendant by Premee Mohamed (April 26th, Fantasy, Book 3)
    "The mindblowing, cosmic conclusion to the breakout Beneath the Rising trilogy. 
    SURVIVAL HAS CONSEQUENCES"
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    An Unreliable Magic Cover
  13. An Unreliable Magic by Rin Chupeco (May 3rd, Fantasy, YA, Book 2)
    "The second book in the A Hundred Names for Magic trilogy, an unforgettable alternative history fairy-tale series from the author of The Bone Witch about found family, modern day magic, and finding the place you belong."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Siren Queen Cover
  14. Siren Queen by Nghi Vo (May 10th, Fantasy)
    "Siren Queen offers up an enthralling exploration of an outsider achieving stardom on her own terms, in a fantastical Hollywood where the monsters are real and the magic of the silver screen illuminates every page."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Stardust Thief Cover
  15. The Stardust Thief by Chelsea Abdullah (May 17th, Fantasy)
    "Inspired by stories from One Thousand and One Nights, The Stardust Thief weaves the gripping tale of a legendary smuggler, a cowardly prince, and a dangerous quest across the desert to find a legendary, magical lamp."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Legacy of Molly Southbourne Cover
  16. The Legacy of Molly Southbourne by Tade Thompson (May 17th, Science Fiction, Horror, Novella, Book 3)
    "From Arthur C. Clarke Award-winner Tade Thompson, The Legacy of Molly Southbourne continues his chilling series and brings the story to a bloody end."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Merciless Ones Cover
  17. The Merciless Ones by Namina Forna (May 31st, Fantasy, YA, Book 2)
    "Fans of The Gilded Ones and Children of Blood and Bone will love the second book in an epic fantasy series about a girl who is the key to saving the empire–or its greatest threat."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Fae Keeper Cover
  18. The Fae Keeper by H.E. Edgmon (May 31st, Fantasy, YA, Book 2)
    "In the heart-stopping sequel to The Witch King, Wyatt and Emyr attempt to rebuild Asalin despite unexpected new enemies within their kingdom."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The City Inside Cover
  19. The City Inside by Samit Basu (June 7th, Science Fiction)
    "The City Inside, a near-future epic by the internationally celebrated Samit Basu, pulls no punches as it comes for your anxieties about society, government, the environment, and our world at large—yet never loses sight of the hopeful potential of the future."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Empress Crowned in Red Cover
  20. Empress Crowned in Red by Ciannon Smart (June 7th, Fantasy, YA, Book 2)
    "Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Roseanne A. Brown, this highly anticipated sequel to Witches Steeped in Gold finds rival witches Jaz and Iraya in an alliance that hangs by a thread, with a brand-new enemy on the horizon."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Final Strife Cover
  21. The Final Strife by Saara El-Arifi (June 21st, Fantasy)
    "In the first book of a visionary fantasy trilogy with its roots in the mythology of Africa and Arabia that “sings of rebellion, love, and the courage it takes to stand up to tyranny” (Samantha Shannon, author of The Priory of the Orange Tree), three women band together against a cruel empire that divides people by blood."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Speaking Bones Cover
  22. Speaking Bones by Ken Liu (June 21st, Fantasy, Book 4)
    "The battle continues in this silkpunk fantasy as science and destiny collide against the will of the gods in this final installment in the epic Dandelion Dynasty series from Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Award–winning author Ken Liu."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    The Ballad of Perilous Graves Cover
  23. The Ballad of Perilous Graves by Alex Jennings (June 21st, Fantasy)
    "Music is magic in this vibrant and imaginative debut novel set in a fantastical verison of New Orleans: a battle for the city's soul brews between two young mages, a vengeful wraith, and one powerful song."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    This Wicked Fate Cover
  24. This Wicked Fate by Kalynn Bayron (June 21st, Fantasy, YA, Book 2)
    "Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart, returns with the second and final book in this stunning, empowering and inclusive fantasy duology."
    The Strorygraph Goodreads
    The Dream Runners Cover
  25. The Dream Runners by Shveta Thakrar (June 28th, Fantasy, YA)
    "From the author of the Indie Next selection and Andre Norton Award finalist Star Daughter, this stand-alone contemporary fantasy, inspired by the nagas and garudas of Hindu mythology, is full of slow-burning romance, haunting intrigue, and shimmering magic."
    The Storygraph Goodreads
    Godslayers Cover
  26. Godslayers by Zoe Hana Mikuta (June 28th, Science Fiction, YA, Book 2)
    "Godslayers—Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane sequel to Gearbreakers—is perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series."
    The Storygraph Goodreads


 

This list was created by Gagan (@afantasysky). If you're interested in reading more science fiction and fantasy books by authors of colour join in with the Shimmering Worlds Reading Challenge.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published